Kastel's IFComp 2023 Reviews [All Reviews Done]

This is my first time judging for IFComp, so I’m excited to write up my thoughts on the games so far. Thank you volunteers for organizing this event and authors for making the games!

While I’m aiming to play all games (randomized order), this thread will be about the games where I have something interesting and hopefully constructive to say. I expect my reviews to be long writing exercises on my end, haha…

17 Likes

The Gift of What You Notice More by Xavid and Zan

I’m always fascinated by puzzle Twine games with inventories because there’s the obvious question, “Why not parser?”, that lingers in the background. Many answer that question differently – and with this game, there’s several reasons but one particular reason stands out the most: it evokes transient, elliptical connections that remind the player is never fully in control, which is perfect for a story like this.

Your player character is packing up things in the middle of the night. Scattered around the apartment are photos of the past, of what felt like better days now long gone. But as the player mindlessly clicks hyperlinks to figure out where to go next, they’ll stumble upon three poets in a cafe who cryptically ask them to consider (and interact with) some old history between the player character and someone whose name is obscured. There, the game finally opens up and reveals its true self, a meditative journey on the meaning of memories and what to do with them in the face of necessary change.