Which parser?

This feels like a topic that probably already exists, but I couldn’t find it…

I’m a choice based author (Twine and Ink mainly) who’s never written any parser games but I’m thinking about trying one out for a little piece for Seedcomp!, but I don’t really know anything about the advantages and disadvantages of the different systems. I know why, for a given project, I’d choose Ink over Twine (or the other way around) but I have no idea on why I would choose Inform over TADS, say.

I’m not a wonderful coder but I don’t need something super simple (although it would be nice to know what is simple anyway and the trade-offs it has). The Seedcomp! game would be very small so probably anything could handle it, but I’d like to start learning something for a potential other project in which I’d like to include an in game timer (not a move counter, an actual real-time time-limit). Apart from that I’m just curious.

And sorry again if this thread already exists somewhere!

5 Likes

Oh, actually I’m an idiot, the Seedcomp! game needs to have an image in it, ideally one that is always visible to the player. That’s like, the whole point…

3 Likes

That doesn’t necessarily stop you from doing it as a parser game, though!

5 Likes

Oh no not at all, but the system would have to support images. I presume they pretty much all do, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

2 Likes

If you wanted something quick and easy to learn with images then you could use Adventuron. (I don’t think that one currently supports a real-time timer, if that’s what you mean, for your other game.)

4 Likes

That is what I mean, yeah.

Inform does. A big plus about Inform is that the help you get here is really quick and thorough. I’ve never used any other program, but if I can pick up the basics, anyone can.

3 Likes

Inform 7 has a low skill floor and a high skill ceiling. It’s fairly easy to jump in and set up some rooms and objects with default actions.