What if I want to be unoriginal?

So I have been watching some authors I greatly respect (Stephen Granade and Emily Short and others) on Twitter talking about “the good old days” when people were hashing out how to solve problems in IF that had never been solved before, and trying new things, and breaking ground in new directions. And lamenting that some of that feeling of camaraderie has been lost since so much has already been done and tried and discovered.

I’m not new to IF exactly, but I’m very new to writing games Honestly, not well versed in every IF game that came before. I know some of the big names. I know what Curses! and Photopia and Horse Master and With Those We Love Alive are, and grew up on Infocom.

What if the game I want to write is really “old well-covered ground”? Because I just like that sort of thing.

7 Likes

Sorry. Not allowed. :stuck_out_tongue:

I’d actually say the majority of IF, especially parser games, doesn’t attempt to break new ground. And that’s not a slight, that’s just what it is, and that’s fine. In order to break new ground you need to first tread the old ground, right? Once you’re comfortable with that then you can start testing the boundaries.

In fact, I think the best games only break new ground because their idea expands beyond what has previously been done, rather than trying to come up with a new gimmick and then sketch up some game that exploits that gimmick.

But either way, I say that you should write what you like. That’s the most important thing. If you like it then someone else is bound to like it as well.

10 Likes

I read that as people lamenting the loss of the camraderie, and proposing the excitement-of-trying-new-things having died down as part of the reason for that loss. I don’t think anyone was trying to say that following well-trodden paths isn’t perfectly fine in its own right…