Version Control and Workbench

So as people have pointed out to me, the TADS 3 site says the tool is a programmer’s power tool. As such, that means version control is presumably part of that. I realize there’s no built-in facility in the Workbench but I’m curious if anyone’s had luck with some workflow that involves Workbench and a VC tool. I’m using Git and when I define external tools that call Git, Workbench always tells me: “An error occurred launching the tool program.”

I can’t tell if that means Workbench’s own tool program or the program that my tool is attempting to call.

In some cases, making the call causes Workbench to freeze up and shut down.

At this point, I’m pretty much ready to just avoid the Workbench all together and do everything command line. But I just wanted to see if there were instances of success with incorporating version control into it.

I just put my new source in a zip file every day, and drag-copy the zip file. I’m not a real programmer, you see, and have never used version control.

The thing I did want to point out, though – Workbench gives you Watch Expressions and Call Stack windows, automatic recording and playback of previous play-through scripts, and a few other niceties, such as auto-indenting and un-indenting of code. (If you forget a close parenthesis or close bracket, the indentation will be wrong, so you’ll get visual feedback.)

So even if you have to run version control externally rather than through Workbench, I feel it’s still a very useful program.

Essentially right now I’m just heading out to the command line to do my Git stuff, which isn’t that bad. I do agree with your points about the syntax coloring as well as the visual cues that the Workbench provides. Workbench is a nice editor in a lot of ways. I’m not a big fan of the play-through scripts; it feels a little clunky to me. But I’ll fully admit that I’ve only looked at it a bit.