The first (major) puzzle of a game

So I’m adapting a browser based text game a friend of mine made a good while ago. There’s this one particular puzzle he designed in the early game that has to do with fiddling around with the url. Well, it’s too unintuitive and hence hard for the very first major puzzle. Luckily, I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to implement in the new format! (Please don’t prove me otherwise, I don’t like it and don’t want it.)

So as I’m new to game design, I wanted to ask you guys if this sounds reasonable to you. Keep in mind it’s the very first major one (by minor I mean environmental puzzles that only require you to do one or two specific-ish things to progress). You have to figure it out in order to get the three key items you need to go on to scene 2.
Here goes.

The clue is:

To pass a mystic gate, a riddle to decode,
Seek the number’s alteration, the secret code.
Of five sevens, the last holds the key,
With the change to a 1, the barrier will flee.

There are blank papers in the Salon. There are quills in the Study. These are just west and east from the entrance respectively. There’s an empty inkwell in the Library, two rooms due north from the entrance. You can use spider ichor (Library), snake venom (basement, accessible from the first room due east) or your own blood (cut your finger) as ink. These must be put into the inkwell, otherwise they congeal on your hand. Three rooms due east from the entrance, there are four sevens on the walls around a door with no lock or handle. You need to cover the “last one” (hidden in a shaft hidden in the room) with the paper, write on it (you always write 1), open sesame.

2 Likes

Oh no, this is in the wrong category!!! Sorry, i’ll copy paste and delete.

Oh no, there’s an error when i try to delete and i can’t figure out how to contact a mod to ask them to move it to a relevant category. :sweat_smile: :sweat_smile: :sweat_smile: So embarassing.