Newbie teacher looking for advice

I’m an elementary teacher, and am looking into making some IF for my classroom. I grew up on Scott Adams and Infocom games. I have a web site for my students, and had some questions:

• Can anyone recommend some creation software? I was reading about Inform 7, but didn’t know if that was the best place to start.
  • How hard is it to publish it so that it can be played in a web browser? Can it be published to fit into a frame, or does it have to be full screen?
  • If it’s published in a web browser, can a student save their progress?

Thanks for any tips or advice!

Have you seen playfic? It lets you code, save, and run, all in the browser, plus links to all of the Inform tutorials. I don’t think there’s a faster way to get your own IF up and running online.

Adrift Could be another choice.
Very easy to use. You concentrate on the writing rather than on the coding.
If you wish to have a look at it, adrift.org.uk/

Or Quest: textadventures.co.uk/quest/

If you publish a game to the website, logged-in users can save their progress and come back later.

To answer your initial question: Inform 7 games can be put online at the flip of a switch if you’re using playfic.com. If you’re using the desktop I7 IDE, it will release a game as a directory of static HTML/Javascript files that you can just upload to any web server. (You can then put the web page in a frame, if you like – that’s true of any web page.)

The web interpreter lets you save progress as browser-local data. (Cookies, effectively.) The save will not be available if you come back to the game in a different web browser, or if you do a “clear cookies” operation.

Thank you for all the suggestions. Unless I’m reading incorrectly, is Adrift and Inform the only two that will publish for my own website? It’s kind of a district (and parent) thing that it’s better if we keep our classroom pages self contained, and not redirect to another site.