Maintaining player interest in games with "unhappy" endings

As someone who is just coming back to playing text adventures after a (fairly) long absence and having an interest in writing something in Inform 7 myself I thought i’d ask how people who have authored games maintain player interest in games that ostensibly do not have a happy ending? I’d also be interested in hearing about any recommendation for games that do this.

I’m aware that the Lovecraftian Horror genre is fairly well representing in interactive fiction and therefore I assume that there must be games out there that do not have what is commonly perceived as a happy ending?

Your assumption seems to be that people generally expect or want stories to have a happy ending. I don’t know if that’s true. It certainly isn’t for me. A story needs a conclusion, with certain rare exceptions.

I don’t really have preconceptions other than that of a game being played for entertainment purposes, as stated I am fairly new to playing Interactive Fiction and therefore don’t have enough experience to have formed my own opinions on whether or not most IF players prefer a happy ending or not - my concern is keeping a player’s interest in a game where there is obviously not going to be a happy ending :slight_smile:

Also if anyone has any recommendations for good freely available interactive fiction that does not have a happy ending (particular in the horror/lovecraftian vein) then they’d be gratefully received :slight_smile:

This might be a good place to start: ifdb.tads.org/search?searchf … vecraftian

In general, you can search the IFDB by lots of things, or you can see the whole tag cloud here: ifdb.tads.org/showtags

-Kevin

Many thanks :slight_smile:

This.

The idea that people by default want/expect happy endings in IF seems very out-of-the-blue to me. Where did it come from?