Let's Talk about Collecting Narrative Games in Libraries

Please join us for an open forum on the issues and challenges of collecting narrative games in libraries! My name is Colin Post, and I am an Assistant Professor of Library and Information Science at the University of North Carolina – Greensboro. I am part of a team conducting research to develop a licensing framework designed specifically to facilitate the collection of independent-made digital games in libraries. We are recruiting independent game creators to participate in focus group sessions to contribute their thoughts on perspectives on this important topic.

While libraries have long collected games released on physical media (e.g., CD-ROMs and cartridges), libraries are currently very limited in their ability to collect and provide access to digital-only games distributed through online storefronts or via creator or community websites. As digital distribution is becoming the primary means for acquiring games, especially games from independent creators, most library game collections fail to fully represent the cultural and artistic diversity of games as a medium.

If you are an independent game creator (i.e. you have created and publicly released at least one game to which you have the exclusive rights), you are eligible for this study. Creators working in any development environment and with any level of experience are welcome to attend.

Participation in the study will involve taking part in a listening and discussion session with other independent game creators on a number of issues critical to licensing games for library collections. Two sessions will take place virtually on Wednesday July 12 from 7-9pm ET and Tuesday July 18 from 12-2pm ET. Participants will not receive any monetary compensation or reimbursement for their participation. If you are not able to attend synchronously, we will be posting summary notes of the discussion on the IntFiction forum for wider community discussion.