Keyboard Accessibility in Inform 7?

slides in from the Twine category

Hi, everyone. I’ve been digging into Inform 7’s documentation and it looks like a fun/powerful development tool. Unfortunately, I am a blind developer and I’m having some issues with pieces of the application. I can get to the menu bar and the editor just fine, but I was wondering if there were any keyboard shortcuts from the tabs at the top of each panel (Go, Replay, Index, etc). At present, I would have to randomly move my mouse around until I manage to not only hover over one, but also have the fortune that my screen reader says the name in before I pass over it. (Awkward, as you can imagine)

I’ve asked Google, but it mostly just leads me to parts of the documentation that mention player input. Anybody have any helpful tips or anything I could look forward to?

If you press and release Alt, can you use the arrow keys to navigate the menus? Are those readable by a screenreader? (Hrm. I should fire up NVDA and just try it.) But I think everything is in the menus.

Go (F5), Replay (F9), and Release are buttons. They’re on the row below the menus. Then the screen is divided into two panes (left and right), each of which can display Source, Results, Index, Skein, Transcript, Story, Documentation, Extensions, or Settings tabs. The Window menu lists those key shortcuts (show tab) as Ctrl-F1 through Ctrl-F9.

You can go to either pane: left with Ctrl-1 and right with Ctrl-2, or toggle between panes with F6, though maybe that’s less useful to you?

Once you’ve built your story, Ctrl-3 through Ctrl-9 and then Ctrl-0 access the sections of the story index (that’s the index tab that you get with Ctrl-F3): Home, Contents, Actions, Kinds, Phrasebook, Rules, Scenes, and World.

4 Likes

Thanks so much! I could get to the top menus using alt, but I suppose I missed the keyboard shortcuts while scrolling through them too quickly. These do work and should be enough for me to get started trying it out.

1 Like