Joe's Spring Thing Reviews (thoughts)

Hmm. So this is my first post. And I am quite apprehensive to share my thoughts on these games. But who am I to share thoughts, when I’m not really even a member of this community, have never created a game ( at least not one since junior high back in the '80s), I barely play games, and I don’t think I have a strong handle on what’s good and what’s not good. But I do have a sense that this community seems very small and very niche, and that maybe creators would appreciate that their work is being consumed, and hopefully enjoyed. I will probably try to keep my reviews positive in nature, since I just don’t feel confident to really do a lot of criticism.

Since I’ve trying to make a Twine project myself, I’ve definitely checked out a lot of those to try to learn what is possible in the medium.

In case people are wondering who the F I am - I’m an indie filmmaker/screenwriter who makes his living as a software programmer (FileMaker, so REAL software programmers look down on people like me). During the pandemic I won a contest where I wrote an interactive branching screenplay (with 16 endings). I was supposed to get money to make the film, but that never happened. I can’t get more specific because I’m under a confidentiality agreement, but with some googling, you might figure it out. It got me really hooked on the format, so I wrote another interactive screenplay in the same 16-ending branching format. Recently, I branched out and have been trying my hand at a game in Twine. I’ve been sharing this game with my screenwriting group, and they are dying for me film these scenes as a live-action interactive movie, and would be so disappointed to learn that I might just keep it as interactive text game - I’ve been hoping to finish it share it in the IF contest in the fall.

OK - enough rambling, I’ll share some reviews.

16 Likes