Implementing ChatGPT's Parser

This is not about using ChatGPT to help write games (Which I’m also finding rather interesting and useful). It is about using it as the parser for game interaction.
It is truly incredible how well it can interpret a user’s input. Imagine how much that would simplify game creation, eh? Not having to account for every obscure synonym a player might try, or every possible description of an action. Not to mention CGPT’s ability to construct responses. But that’s another topic.
Sadly, I am not a programmer. At all. Except for Inform 7, and so far I’m not all that great at that either LOL.
But perhaps someone(s) in the community might be interested in pursuing such a project.
I have already tried asking CGPT to write an extension for Inform 7 that implements its parser, but it is very resistant to doing so. … So far. … LOL

Side Note: It’s actually not all that great at writing I7 code, which I find odd. But it can lay out a decent enough skeleton. Especially when approaching things as pieces rather than a whole … but that’s a different post)
EDIT: But you CAN directly feed it the bug report output from the compiler and it will correct the code based on that. Which is nice. Could be useful for finding and fixing bugs.

4 Likes

This is maybe a facile observation, but I find ChatGPT to be pretty bad at actually understanding even very basic things. It’s really good at pretending intelligence, but in several instances I get a distinctly Eliza-ish response, while in others the system just plain bullshits you.

It’s different when you do creative writing, I get that. Still, I find myself having to triple check everything produced via ChatGPT, because it tends to invent facts and present it as the truth, confidently and without an ounce of shame.

7 Likes

ChatGPT (and its predecessors) don’t understand the user’s input.