IF System that allows for slightly complex simulations?

I’m tinkering around on a story where I am wanting to do implement some simulations as part of story interaction. Is there a system that allows for custom code / math / etc?

I know I could do some such with Twine and Javascript. But I was wondering what other systems are worth considering?

2 Likes

In what way do you mean? Like one where math is possible in game? Or you can type in code into the command prompt while playing? Both of those have different languages I’d recommend.

1 Like

Specifically when developing the game it self - so elements of the game driven by math, not the game player typing in code.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Hmmm, I can’t help much with the idea of math in development. But recently @mathbrush made a game with a working calculator that had sin, cos, tan, etc. I’m not sure if that’s what you’re looking for but if it is, Inform (7 or 10, ask @Zed) is probably the way to go. I’m not very experienced in multiple languages so this probably isn’t helpful advice, but I thought it might be worth a try!

2 Likes

Such as? If it’s just some mid-level arithmetic, you could use choicescript. My latest game has a city management system which uses plenty of mathematical calculations.

If we’re talking about advanced algebra or geometry, I probably can’t help with that, unless you want to try creating an IF with Excel.

Inform’s certainly capable of it, like any Turing complete language. I’m not sure what kind of simulation you’re talking about, but if it’s some sort of physics simulator, I don’t think Inform’s especially well-suited to it. It’s not hard to imagine that what you want would end up being obnoxiously slow. And Inform’s not the easiest thing to learn: I wouldn’t recommend taking it on for this problem domain.

But simulation involving math could mean all sorts of things – if you tell us more about what you have in mind, we could give better advice.

1 Like