I would like to ask about the minimum required in a parser (please read for specifics)

I’m an amateur developer and I am trying to write a simple parser. I do not need any coding advice, but since my choice is an IF parser, I have a couple of questions about the minimum required in interactivity for a game to be able to present puzzles. So in my parser I can take items, drop items, open doors and some basic cosmetic things like look or examine. I am going to add a use option so once a player picks up an item of course its important to be able to use it. This is not too difficult. Other than that, a player can go from room to room for basic travel. Now, in terms of the parser having those minimum options and also moving around, if you think in terms of puzzle design, then is this enough to create complex game puzzles? I am not looking at this from an authors point of view, since I have little experience in that. From a programmers point of view, many things can already be done with this. So what kind of examples should I be looking at online at both the developer level and designer level to be able to say that → This game can be made in this system and it can be rewritten in that system. Is there a rudimentary design specification that is common ground on the subject?

2 Likes

There are solid IF puzzles that rely on nothing more than TAKE, DROP, and movement commands.

Really, you can create complex game puzzles with clickable hyperlinks. You can create complex game puzzles with four arrow keys and the space bar. That isn’t the barrier.

When we talk about requirements for an IF parser, it’s a matter of what allows the author to feel comfortable building and customizing the game world. That’s hard – a really good parser is a lot of work. But if you’re making a simple parser for your own satisfaction, that’s fine too. You just need to think about what kind of puzzles (or other story) you want to write, and then figure out how to build it.

6 Likes