I ran out of ideas for software projects in UK Covid Lockdown 2!

Then I remembered an old game, GUI Colossal Cave. I’d been impressed by the ultra minimal GUI interface and thought it a shame there was no associated authoring tool. I guess you’re ahead of me here, so having nothing else to do, I set about creating my own generator and runner aimed specifically at beginners and those who find current systems more complex than they care for!

I’ve been working on this off and on for around 20 months. That wasn’t all coding as I needed to translate some existing games (not being an author myself) in order to create something for folk to look at. I’ve finally got to the point where I think it is all fit for human consumption and so have added a web page to my personal web site. If you search for Racing Dog’s Kennel you should find me easily enough. The platform is called SImple IF and there is a button on my home page which takes you to the Simple IF page.

Please don’t let my efforts go to waste! Have an investigate and let me know what you think. There is an e-mail link you can use for feedback.

Regards,
Derek Lazenby

5 Likes

Unfortunately, Google turns up nothing for me. Could you post your web address?

2 Likes

It’s at http://racingdog.hostfree.pw/Simple%20IF.html but it seems to be windows only.

2 Likes

I have problems with the web thought police in that some of them make the false presumption that all free hosting site users must be somehow dodgy, so I never include my URL in e-mails otherwise they can just disappear! However, if you look at the racingdog line in my signature strip below you should get the idea.

Good luck, thanks for the contact,
Derek Lazenby

1 Like

Nils, may one ask exactly how many operating systems you expect a retired 73 year old to have in his home?

1 Like

My site has been moved to a new location to whit racingdog.lazenby.me. The page names are unchanged. Sorry about that but it was circumstances beyond my control.

1 Like