How do you all handle design documents?

Hello! I’m new to the IF writing scene, and I’m putting together a resource to keep on target for my first game. So far, I have a section for supporting lore and a description to help inform the voice of the player-character, with the intention of adding a streamlined plot synopsis next, and then notes for pacing and maybe ideas for puzzles that fit with the narrative.

I’ve never done this before, so it would be helpful to compare notes! What goes into your preparations for a new game?

4 Likes

First you have to write your own IF engine.

I’m joking, I’m joking. OK, I’ll leave. :wink:

Don’t mean to dismiss your question, which is an interesting one. I’m sure people will chime in soon :+1:

1 Like

I start with an idea, then write the start and the end. After that i design the story, the characters you meet and the challenges. I put this into a single working document that starts to take shape. I write the chapters and plan the associated artwork. then i code it.
Oh, and @tundish, i’ve already written the IF engine :slight_smile:

5 Likes

I’m just a duffer here.

Scrivener to keep track of potential story ideas, characters, items and everything else.

Trizbort for mapping. I don’t use it to export any code, just to keep a diagram of the room relationships.

TADS 3 is my authoring system of choice. Inform 6 and its standard library and Punyinform as an excellent alternative.

2 Likes

I do not keep any documents in any organized fashion, unless you count random notes scribbled on receipts, book margins, and torn bits of paper as “design documents.”

I just sit down and write it, and sometimes the little scraps of paper with notes are useful, but often not.

4 Likes

@fos1 I tried to get into Scrivener. it looked good, but it doesn’t like markdown. I tend to do everything in markdown now as it’s quick. Ive been using Obsidian to do this.

2 Likes