The Eleusinian Miseries: Post Mortem

So anyone who’s played my game, or read my review thread, will probably be unsurprised that I’m taking advantage of my one last opportunity to write way too many words for IF Comp 2020. I know some folks tend to dislike post-mortems, but as a first-time author I at least found it really helpful to read a bunch as I was getting my feet wet, so hopefully this will be of interest and/or of use to at least a few people.

(Hi, mom).

Before getting into the meat of the thing, I should note that I’m assuming anyone reading this has already finished the game, or isn’t planning on doing so. Here there be spoilers, in other words

The basic concept

“Where do your ideas come from?” is usually a vexed question to answer, but atypically this time it’s pretty easy: a pun on “Eleusinian Mysteries” popped into my head late last year when I was playing the Ancient Greek Assassin’s Creed game, and along with the title came a writing style (stolen wholesale from P.G. Wodehouse) and a genre (puzzley shaggy-dog story).

At the risk of over-elaborating the one bit of this I’ve managed to communicate in a reasonably compact manner, I’d been casting about for an idea because I was going through one of my intermittent phases of wanting to enter IF Comp. I’ve been into IF since in the early aughts, though my engagement has waxed and waned. Last year I stumbled across Jimmy Maher’s blog and devoured it, in the process going back to many of the old Infocom classics I’d missed out the first time round and rekindling my interest in (primarily parser, though I’ve been enjoying getting up to speed on the choice-based movement) IF.