Help with variables for tracking visited rooms

Hello everyone! Many apologies if this issue has been raised before, but I wasn’t able to find any answers that might solve it. I should also mention that I’m a complete newbie to coding and Twine and I’m mainly working through trial and error.

I’m trying to create a way system to unlock and display a secret room after visiting all rooms in the game.

So far I’ve set up my game like so:

• Each passage contains the following code:
    <<if visited(passage()) is 1>><<set $visited to ($visited + 1)>><><<set $passageX to true>><>
    This allows for a counter at the top each page ($visited rooms / total rooms).

• The homepage contains the following code:
    <<if $passageX eq true and $passageY eq true and $passageZ eq true>>
    [[SecretRoom]]
    <><>
    What I mean here is that if the passages are not true, nothing happens.

My problem is that each passage seems only to become true on the second visit, while I’d like it to be counted on the first visit.
I suspect that part of the problem might be that I need to set $visited to 0 before it can start counting. However, part of the game consists in retracing your own steps and even visiting the homepage multiple times, so that setting $visited to 0 on the homepage would also require a line of code that sets the value only on the first visit, so that the counter isn’t reset every time.

This may seem rather basic stuff, but has anyone encountered a similar scenario?
Any suggestions (or words of comfort) are much appreciated!

Thank you!
seedy_cake

You’re over complicating this. You don’t need to duplicate the visit state with variables, just use the state as-is.

Specifically. Just use the hasVisited() function in the passage with the secret room portal.

As a basic example:

<<if hasVisited("Bar", "Café", "Pizza Joint")>>…secret room link…<</if>>

Oh I see! Thank you very much, TheMadExile, that does sound less of a hassle.