Expanding the parser for beginners?

Continuing the discussion from Philosophy and goals of Text Adventure Literacy Jam:

I wonder if the parser can be expanded (for example for Tads and Inform 6 and 7)? Would it be possible to react to typical “messages” a complete beginner player enters? Like “Hello” or “How are you”? It would of course be neccesary to first answer the question “what are typical beginner messages”.

6 Likes

My question here would be, what are the benefits of specifically responding to “I don’t get it” or “what should I do” compared to just having a good response to unrecognised commands? Wouldn’t that cover those cases as well?

When Aaron Reed (I think) did some investigation into this kind of thing, I think the case he found that wasn’t typically being covered was newbies just repeatedly submitting an empty prompt, which he thought should redirect to >LOOK or >WAIT (personally I think a specifically tailored error response is fine too).

4 Likes

HELP

would be more productive. Ask yourself what would you tell the player if you see a frustrated one repeatedly banging the ENTER key?

1 Like

I’d ask them what they were expecting that to do, and the answer Reed had was they wanted to see the game do something, hence mapping that action to LOOK.

But, yes, personally I make my games respond with an error message that includes info from the general unrecognised command response (which should help the player find a recognised command) but also specifically highlighting how to repeat the room description or make time pass.

2 Likes

yeah, some prior art of interest:

Aaron Reed analyzed mostly newbie’s transcripts of people playing For Whom the Telling Changed. Contemporary r.a.i-f commentary.

Attempts to be newbie-friendlier by Reed include:

11 Likes

I had always thought you could do online beta testing and track everything people enter. Make sure you get newbie feedback.

Then you apply responses to every command that’s been tried.

1 Like