Development thread for Bisquixe (asking for js/jquery code review)

I’ve been working on updating Quixe to allow it to easily do audiovisual tricks without requiring a server to be set-up.

The goal is for this to be a ‘dumbed down’ version of vorple, only requiring downloading a couple of files and only capable of a few simple things.

Right now, I’ve only explored the simplest features. Here is a demo:

Current features:

-Dynamically change background by typing CS followed by a color recognized by CSS.

Screenshots:

I’m not an expert in this, but I enjoy trying things like this. I might add it to my game Never Gives Up Her Dead by changing the background color in different ‘zones’ of the ship.

I started talking about this in a thread on BJ Best’s recent game. Feel free to ask for some feature requests here, and I’ll see what I can do. Right now I wouldn’t expect much outside of changing some CSS styling or adding other things that simple javascript can do!

10 Likes

Copying some feature requests from here:

Some things I think it would be cool to easily do, on par with the Twine level of “easily do”:

• Hyperlinks–at a minimum, hyperlinks to other local or WWW HTML files. But perhaps hyperlinks to travel between rooms, or links that execute commands, too?
  • The ability to change colors of the page background, page text, prompt text, and status bar text and background.
  • The ability to change the fonts for the status bar, game text, and prompt, using Google fonts.
  • Probably a simple way to display images? I’ve never done this, so I don’t know how easy it is in Inform or if Vorple changes it appreciably.
  • An easy way to inject custom HTML or JS into the game? For example, in the project I’m working on, I’m creating and placing an HTML table via Vorple. (It sounds like JS might already be covered elsewhere, but there may also be a use for script tags within the page?)
  • Other CSS stuff: text decoration, transitions, borders, etc.