Building a Conversation Simulating Engine (in RenPy/Python)

I am a sci-fi novellist about to make my first proper attempt at making IF (in the form of a RenPy VN). I have basic coding experience, so should be able to handle the modest demands of RenPy with practice.

Where I want to do things differently is to find a way to build a mechanic that simulates relatively free flowing conversation between characters. I would appreciate any feedback or suggestions on my thoughts so far.

The plan is to generate a set of around 100 small conversation based branching decision trees, each on a narrow topic (with say two branch points and four endings on average).

The difficulty lies on how to allow the player to explore all these options without getting overwhelmed or lost in excessive randomness. So lets say we limit the player to a choice of 3 new topic trees after the previous one is exhausted.

I need to balance narrative cohesion with player freedom, so this is my plan.
Choice 1. A random selection from a range of 2-3 hand picked topic trees that most directly flow from the previous topic and decisions.
Choice 2. A random selection from a range of 10-20 topic trees that are categorised into the same broad subject as the previous decision.
Choice 3. A random selection from all other topics (topic trees will be removed from the selection pool after being selected once for all options).

This is intended to replicate the feeling of having a “getting to know you” conversation (like a first date), focused on allowing the player to get a partial slice of the NPCs character’s backstory. In any single playthrough only a small percentage of topics can be chosen in the time allowed. Hopefully this creates an “iceberg” feeling around the characterisation, and encourages replay to explore the NPCs full backstory.