Best engine fit for an RPG

I have a pretty clear idea of the game I want to make, but I’m new to these systems and keep starting to learn one only to learn they don’t fit. before I commit to one I want to get some advice on what might be the easiest road. here’s some of the things I want to be able to do. they’re not breaking points, just ideals

• playable in browsers
  • player interaction is selecting listed options, not typing inputs
  • variables for player and equipment stats
  • stat based “combat” or encounter challenges
  • inputs, like traveling to a certain area, can give a variety of outcomes, chosen semi-randomly, influenced by multiple variables

Choicescript has games like that. You may want to take a look at it.

1 Like

Twine (especially Sugarcube) or Choicescript can meet all of those bullets.

I think you’re asking this question in the wrong place. You’d be better off asking it in one of the RPG forums. What you’re really looking for is some sort of RPG creation software, not interactive fiction authoring software. A Google search should reveal a few potential contenders. Otherwise, try Wikipedia as a starting point. RPG Maker is apparently quite popular.

It is possible to build your own RPG in a choice engine such as Twine/Sugarcube, especially if your game is more story-focused. Check out Josh Labelle’s Tavern Crawler.

(I’d suggest AXMA in the past - it had a template for RPG display and sprite handling capabilities, but the documentation is in Russian and it is not supported well currently so may not be good for a new author to pick up. I made a faux MMORPG with AXMA 6.1.)

Other RPGs done in standard IF engines: Endless, Nameless and Kerkerkruip which I believe are both done in tricked out versions of Inform 6/7.