B.J. Best's IFComp 2022 reviews

Like some others, I’ve participated in the Comp before but I’ve never reviewed the games I played. I very much enjoyed the community of reviewers in the last Comp, and as an author I know the value of seeing someone else play my game and thoughtfully consider it.

During the voting period, I tend to skew pretty heavily toward the shorter games, lingering with the longer ones later on. I’m not sure how many games I’ll get to or how long each review will be, but generally I want to attend to some of the lesser-reviewed games out there. I feel like, very broadly, shorter games also tend to do less well in the Comp. There’s probably a variety of factors at play, but here I’d like to focus on some cool things that some of the shorter games do well.

13 Likes

To Persist/Exist/Endure, Press 1 by Anthony O (Texture)

Well, the Agency of Neverending Happiness and Clearing Out Monsters From Under Your Bed has called. And we don’t seem that happy about it. Especially since, despite the agency calling us, we now appear to be the ones stuck in their phone-menu hell.

To Persist follows through on that premise. Your first option is to press 1 for Polish, and lo, the next page is indeed rendered into what I can only assume is accurate Polish. Option 3 yields a directory of a series of unreachable departments that mingle corporatespeak and self-help lingo: the department of “Quality Assurance and Self-Reassurance,” for example. Most branches finish up with only one meaningful action: hanging up the phone, leaving us as sad as we were when we answered the call in the first place, or worse.