Why on earth would anyone enter raw Python code into the Spring Thing?

Victor Gijsbers posed this question during his report on Theatre of Spud, an entry in the Spring Thing 2021 Back Garden.

As the author, I clearly have access to one of the possible solutions to this puzzle. There may be others I hadn’t anticipated though.

6 Likes

There’s obviously nothing wrong with Python per se, except that there’s really no great way to package Python programs as executables for desktop OSs, which creates situations like the linked thread. I work as a Python developer myself, and I know and love Python, but I would probably never use it for anything besides server backend stuff. The ecosystem just isn’t there, and it doesn’t seem very interested in getting there.

That said, the main problem with using Python or any other non-standard IF toolchain, is that you have to reinvent the wheel in order to end up with something that almost certainly doesn’t work as well as Inform and friends. That doesn’t mean it’s a bad idea, but like the age-old game development saying goes: If you want to make a game, use a game engine; if you want to make a game engine, make a game engine.

So a good reason to use Python to make a Spring Thing game would be to improve IF tooling in the Python ecosystem. A noble cause!

4 Likes

Yes that is my objective, to improve the options for IF authors who want to use Python.

I don’t think there’s anything intrinsically lacking in the Python ecosystem to achieve that. Ren’Py after all, manages to package executables to multiple platforms, and that’s Python-based.

In the meantime, I’m grateful to anyone who’s willing to tolerate the friction of installing a package or two; user testing is really important.

2 Likes