Agonizing over development system choice

Hello there.

My name is Simon and I have been meaning to write some IF for a while now. I’m a hobbyist programmer and I used to poke around with TADS back when it was called number 2. Then TADS 3 came out and I poked around with that. I really like the system. Then one day, I discovered something called Inform 7. What’s this, I thought, a natural language programming system? That sounds really cool. So I tried it out and it was really cool. It was (and still is) hard to get used to, but I really like the concept and some of its unique features and the development environment is really slick.

So long story short, I couldn’t decide which system to use to write my games in. I’ve read most of the documentation for both and I have a pretty good idea of what they can do. I could of course learn both and use whichever one seems more suitable for a particular game, but I think that either system is perfectly capable of creating anything I can throw at it and learning one really well is better than learning two moderately well.

I have several game ideas, but all of them are rather complicated and I think unsuitable for a first game. So to solve two problems at once, here’s what I’ll do. I’ll write a simple short game in both systems and just see which one is better for me personally. Because I have a programming background and somewhat better familiarity with TADS, I decided to use Inform first, so that I’m less tempted to follow traditional programming paradigms.

EDIT: The game is finished and available at the IFDB.
My thoughts about Inform 7 are posted here.
The same thing about TADS 3 is here.

Agonizing over your choice of tools only delays the agony of writing the damn game. :slight_smile:

Sitting down and finishing something is the right plan here, I agree.

Try Inform6 too.