About TADS3 show Chinese problem

I have tried to write Chinese fiction with to TADS3,but frobtads and Gargoyle show word is messy code(���),Have what solution?

PS:Because I’m an English newbie, I have grammar errors. xwx(This paragraph is copying)

2 Likes

Is there the same problem with QTads? That’s the interpreter I recommend for TADS… are they Unicode characters that you’re trying to display? What charset directive are you using in your source files? Unicode characters can be used in strings with a \u prefix…

2 Likes

Because I useing to be gnome-desktop,so I do not install QT and QTads,I used “en_us.h” and “adv3.h” in source files.my /lib file in does not have “cn_cn.*”.I tried to convert chinese text to a Unicode code ,just as “\u8fd9\u662f\u5f00\u59cb\u623f\u95f4”,but it as before messy code.

You can run QT applications under Gnome. If you want to do that you have to install QT but not KDE.

As a Chinese, I think Chinese parser IF would be interesting to see because Chinese grammar can differ from the conventional way of phrasing commands. For example, there could be several ways how you phrase “take (the) bottle out of (the) bag” in Chinese: 把瓶子拿出包里,把瓶子拿出包,从包里拿出瓶子(from the bag take the bottle),or the simplest but most awkward 拿瓶子出包. I haven’t really written IF so it would be interesting to see how you deal with the problem.

6 Likes

I try on windos it still messy code or “?” and Player Kit report an error is: “Warning :no mapping file is available for the local character set “CP936”.The system will use a default ASCII character set mapping instead,so accented characters will be displayed without their accents”.but i not understand setting of characters.

2 Likes

Oh my! to see a fatherland man is very lucky! I am not alone.(have bit odd.)

3 Likes