IF suggestions for a newbie

Hi all!
I am new to IF (I just took a seminar on it!) but I’ve gotten really into the whole concept of interactive fiction and games. Do you have any suggestions for a newbie like me?

6 Likes

Hello and welcome!

Do you already how to play IF? You know, commands like I, L, N?
If not there are the people who maintain TALP.
If you do know it already I would recommend “Lost pig” or maybe something easy by Infocom (maybe Wishbringer?)

Here are links for beginners:

3 Likes

What IF were you introduced to? The same term can mean slightly different things to different people, but all of those interpretations are welcome here.

Have you played:
1-Free twine games like Howling Dogs or Birdland?
2-Parser games where you type like Zork or Photopia?
3-Commercial illustrated games like Fallen London or 80 Days?
4-Omnibus apps with fanmade content like Choices or Episode?
5-Visual Novels?
6-Commercial text-only games like Choice of Games?

All of those are IF and all are welcome here, but it could be easier to point you to something you like if we know which category you prefer! (and could be something not even on here)

9 Likes

There’s no better place to start than the IFDB Top 100 list:

These are the best rated games of multiple types and the list is periodically updated so there are classics and new stuff creeps up occasionally.

Of course as you find what you like, you’ll want to dig deeper as some of the more obscure stuff is also fascinating in different ways.

7 Likes

If you are interested in parser IF (the kind where you type commands), you might want to start with a game that has a built-in tutorial, like The Blue Lettuce or The Dreamhold.

For a choice game, there’s not much of a learning curve for players, so you could look for something at IFDB that interests you. Here’s one that I think is good: Will Not Let Me Go - Details (ifdb.org)

4 Likes