Wrapping Quixe into an app with PhoneGap

I’m searching a way to convert Inform games into Android apps. I tried AndroidIF (used by Simon Christiansen for Patanoir) but there are things I didn’t like with it.

Then I thought about using Quixe and PhoneGap (even though I have zero knowledge in JavaScript). I did a quick test by using the web pages generated by Inform and, a few problems aside, it worked quite well!

The only issues I encountered for the moment is that the keyboard flickers, there is no way to minimise it and the text doesn’t scroll automatically to the bottom.

So my question is: is it worth continuing this experiment, or are there drawbacks that I should worry about?

Out of curiosity, I also tried building the app for iOS to compare it with iosglulxe. Again, would there be drawbacks to use Quixe/PhoneGap instead of iosglulxe? I assume the latter is faster, but I find it easier to customise the former.

Thanks!

Speed is the big difference. Also, I have tested iOS VoiceOver thoroughly with IosGlulxe; I don’t know how a Phonegap app will do with it.

Without a Node/Electron environment, Quixe has to use HTML local storage for all its save files and transcripts. This may be limited in space, and it will be a nuisance to export that data from the app.

I built from scratch an Android app on Quixe just a couple months ago. I’m talking a pure offline app that can work with the phone in airplane mode. Let me highlight some things to understand: