Wolfbiter reviews IFComp 2023 (latest: finished with reviews, wrap-up thoughts)

I’ve been playing IF for quite a few years casually. This is my first year participating in the community so I’m still picking up the norms. I observe that y’all make threads to review the games, so here goes!

Thank you to all of the authors who generously donate their blood sweat and tears so we can all enjoy these delicious games. mmmm

ETA: Ahahahahahahahahaahah! The algorithm has vested in me the power to edit my own posts, a power that I should absolutely have and will definitely only use in the ways a normal person would use it.

Contents:
Last Valentine’s Day by Daniel Gao
20 Exchange Place by Sol FC
GameCeption by Ruo
All the Troubles Come My Way by Sam Dunnachie
Fix Your Mother’s Printer by Geoffrey Golden
The Whale’s Keeper by Ben Parzybok
Escape your psychosis! By Georg Buchrucker
DICK MCBUTTS GETS KICKED IN THE NUTS by Hubert Janus
Who Iced Mayer McFreeze? by Damon L. Wakes
Dysfluent by Allyson Gray
Meritocracy by Ronynn
The Long Kill by James Blair
Shanidar, Safe Return by Cecilia Dougherty
The Finders Commission by Deborah Sherwood
In the Details by M.A. Shannon
The Whisperers by Milo van Mesdag
All Hands Abandon Ship by David Lee
Xanthippe’s Last Night with Socrates by Victor Gijsbers
Virtue by Oliver Revolta
Last Vestiges by thesleuthacademy
Please Sign Here by Road
CODENAME OBSCURA by Mika Kujala
A Thing of Wretchedness by Akheon
Into The Lion’s Mouth by Metalflower
Detective Osiris by Adam Burt
Kaboom by anonymous
My Brother; The Parasite by qrowscant
One Does Not Simply Fry by Stewart C Baker and James Beamon
One Knight Stand by A. Hazard
Antony & Cleopatra: Case IV: The Murder of Marlon Brando by Travis Moy
Lake Starlight by SummersViaEarth
Assembly by Ben Kirwin
Tricks of light in the forest by Pseudavid
Honk! by Alex Harby
LUNIUM by Ben Jackson
Hand Me Down by Brett Witty
Death on the Stormrider by Daniel L. Stelzer
Paintball Wizard by Doug Egan