Why is my code not working?

Hi! I’m new to twine and working a basic game.
(if: $item1=1 , $item2=1)(goto: "[[optionA]]")
(if: $item1=0 , $item2=0)[(goto: "[[optionB]]")

This is the code i’m currently using. I know an if–>then–>else system would be better but i can’ t figure out how to write one. When i try it it says that neither options exist when an arrow is going to both options and that i need an -item before both item1 and item2. I’m sorry if this is a silly question but I can’t seem to find an answer any where. Thank you guys so much!

1 Like

For starters, it might help to take a look at the operators that Harlowe uses for Boolean logic. In this case, where you’re using the = sign, you actually need to use is instead.

The documentation doesn’t seem to cover what to do if you want to check the values of multiple variables in one if-statement (as far as I can see? though I might have missed something), but you want to use “and”, not a comma.

You also want just the quotation marks, not the double square brackets, in your goto, like in all the examples in the documentation here.

Finally, you need to use a hook after the (if:) macro for anything that you only want to be displayed/run if the macro evaluates to true. So: (if $item1 is 1 and $item2 is 1)[(goto: "optionA")]

What are you having trouble understanding about the use of else-if?

(By the way, when posting code, it helps to use the “preformatted text” option, which you can do by highlighting the text and clicking the button at the top of the post window that looks like </> or by manually typing backticks (` - the key left of the 1 on a QWERTY keyboard) around the text.)

1 Like