Whew, my ifcomp entry is uploaded. I'm "done". Are you?

After a week of staying up until 3am each night, fixing bugs, incorporating final feedback and adding polish, my entry is “done” (is it ever really done?).

Since I’m a terrible procrastinator I usually get the major bulk of my IF writing done in September with a mad rush at the end. I’m actually glad I can relax this weekend. I’m curious how other authors work. Are you all going to be putting in all-nighters right up to the deadline? Or are you coasting to the finish?

8 Likes

I’m also just about done – game is uploaded, thought might make a small tweak to the cover and blurb because somehow those are more anxiety-inducing than the game itself! I did most of my intensive work in July and August, since I’m a first time author and didn’t have a great sense of how long things would take. I’m sure now that I’ve had this experience, if I enter again I’ll have a false sense of complacency and be stuck right up against the deadline instead, though.

(And to avoid crowing while other folks are scrambling, feel free to PM me if you need a last bit of testing before Monday!)

5 Likes

I’ve been pretty much “done” and uploaded for a week. My current build was created Sep 18th. This is the first year I haven’t been sliding into home-plate like a crazy person. It feels good to not be scrambling but there’s always that “could I do more?” thing. I’m reluctant to mess with it further since my game involves a lot of media and distributing a full build can sometimes go wonky in the compression or upload process, but what’s up now seems to work just fine and I’m good standing on that, I think.

8 Likes