Where to showcase a game

I have been working for the past months (post Christmas) on an idea to make the transcript game from Infocom’s ‘Lurking Horror’ as a tribute to both Dave Lebling and the Infocom team, and to ZIL itself. I got the idea from a similar project ‘blog’ I found which recreated the transcript for another game and at the end commented that the Lurking horror transcript would be a good ‘next project’. I thought to myself that the ‘challenge’ to reproduce the Lurking Horror transcript would be interesting and not too taxing on my limited ZIL ability (How wrong I was, the ‘computer’ login especially causing a few headaches!). My quandary is, where would you ‘showcase’ such a game - I have little experience of itch.io or of how to ‘submit’ to it or what other ‘hosting’ sites are out there. Also, is anything that uses Infocom material still copyright and if so - is ‘fan fiction’ allowed if it is ‘non-profit’ (e.g. A free game just to show ZIL as still a valid tool for IF)? - I have never really looked at putting any of my stuff into the open world as I tend to create for my own enjoyment, but I am at the stage where the game itself is almost finished and thought it would be good to release it along with the source for others to dissect. I think ZIL is seen to be a little ‘difficult’ to master and other languages are more suitable (Inform 7 for example) for ‘modern’ games - And, as someone who found it difficult to find examples (especially using @vaporware ZILF) thought that the more ZIL out there the better for those wanting to learn it too. What are the thought of others? Those having similar ideas of releasing games (not necessarily ZIL games) but not knowing where to start, or those who have already gone through the process (what did it involve and what were the pitfalls and lessons learnt). AG

4 Likes

Generally, I’d recommend entering the game in a competition, as those tend to generate the most attention and feedback.