Where is the order of rules? [Solved]

Noob here again. I can’t fit the whole manual into my head at once, bear with me please.

I once saw a handy guide about how rules are processed – Befores, Insteads, Afters, and all that. My computer crashed, and I’ve lost it. If anyone knows where I could get this simple guide on the order of attempted operations, I’d appreciate it.

If I recall right, it was a color-coded html table, but it might have been an image.

Specifically, this time, I’m trying to get something to happen the first time the player lies down on a table; the problem is that if the requirements for lying down on the table aren’t met [“You can’t do that, there’s too much junk on the table”], the first time is still used up by the failed attempt.

The guide would probably solve my related future problems as well, so I’m really hoping I didn’t just imagine it.

Inform Rules Chart (pdf).

This looks like what you are describing…
Look for the I7 Cheatsheet in the List of inform 7 documentation at the top of this forum [url]https://intfiction.org/t/the-list-of-inform-7-documentation-as-of-19-dec-2011/3311/1]
Its towards the end of the doc (top of pg6)

These are more detailed than the one I wanted, which is sure to be useful. Thanks.

Any advice on how I should do this? If a separate “After” rule isn’t enough to only conduct the one-time event if the “Before” rule succeeds, am I going to have to assign a variable or value or so on [“the table can be used or unused, the table is unused”], or is there some simpler way to do these things?

Ah, some people helped out while I was typing my long post about rule order! Well, I’ll still let you in on this last part, if you like.

To handle the situation regarding your messy table, maybe you should not use “for the first time” in that instance. Try this example as an alternate approach. In the situation, a walrus will represent the mess on your table.

[code]A table is in bedroom. It is an enterable supporter.