What authoring system to use if we cannot install EXEs on student computers?

I am a public school teacher. I’d like to assign my students to use a traditional IF authoring system, such as TADS or ALAN to create their own game, however, we are limited by two main requirements:

1. The students all have Windows 10 computers, but we can’t install any EXEs on them.
  2. Web-based tools tend to be off-limits, as they don’t comply with laws like FERPA, SOPIPA, COPPA etc., basically if a student must create an account and the Web site offers any means for strangers to contact students, to see student’s work, etc., it is off-limits. …pretty much only Web sites designed specifically with teachers and students in mind are setup to comply. The students must be isolated to only contacting their teacher and classmates on a Web site.

An ideal situation is if the students write their code in Notepad, copy to a web tool where it compiles and lets them play, but doesn’t save anything on their web site, its just a tool for compiling and playing, nothing else.

How can we develop and play the games students make within these limitations?

1 Like

Twine is web based and doesn’t store anything on the online Twine system. It is actually safe. No student information is stored. You can check in the Twine discussion area to verify. The Twine developers frequent this site.

I have found many school system IT department admins and school administrators aren’t very competent and even with sound logic explanation just block everything. :frowning:

1 Like

Adventuron (adventuron.io) runs locally in the browser. No account creation required. It has a pedagogical flavour. Take a look.

4 Likes

I’ve never tried it, but Borogove apparently lets you use Inform, Hugo and Dialog in the browser.

https://borogove.app

6 Likes

I’m sure there are other good solutions too but wanted to repeat and elaborate on what Chris said earlier.