Using a screwdriver to 'unlock' containers

Hi,

I’m fairly new to IF, so I expect the answer to be a glaringly obvious one that I’ll kick myself for not working out.

I am trying to use:

Understand "unscrew [a locked container]" as unlocking.

But not only does IF not like the verb ‘unlocking’, it also performs the action ‘turning’ when unscrew is used.

I’m still a newb and trawling through the documentation, so I apologise if this is a stupid question! I would appreciate any suggestions you might have.

Thanks in advance.

Hi J’xargo!

The first problem is that the verb “unscrew” is already defined, mapping to the “turning” action. If you want to redefine it, you need to remove the existing grammar line first:

Understand the command "unscrew" as something new.

The second problem is that the “unlocking” action takes two nouns: the thing being unlocked, and the thing being used to unlock it. Some extensions (such as Locksmith) define a new “keyless unlocking” action, which takes only one noun, but you could also do this:

Understand "unscrew [something]" as unlocking it with. Rule for supplying a missing second noun when unlocking it with when the player's command matches "unscrew": now the second noun is the screwdriver.

ALTERNATELY:
Probably the easier way to do it would be this.

The Laboratory is a room. There is a screwdriver in the Laboratory.

The player carries an intricate puzzle box. The puzzle box is a locked container. The description of the puzzle box is "Hopelessly complicated. You have no idea how to manipulate all the little buttons to get it open. On the bottom are some screws." Understand "screw" or "screws" as the puzzle box.

The screwdriver unlocks the intricate puzzle box.

Instead of turning the intricate puzzle box when the player is carrying the screwdriver:
    try unlocking the puzzle box with the screwdriver.