"Use no scoring" as the default?

I’ve made a uservoice suggestion that “Use no scoring” should be the default.

My reasoning is that people who want to use scoring are already mucking around with the score; this lets people who don’t want to use scoring ignore the score entirely. And these days, it seems like most people don’t want to use scoring. Let us end the tyranny of “You scored 0 out of a possible 0 points, in 53 turns!” (I have one data point that newbies – well, one newbie – find that message particularly ridiculous.)

(I don’t know if it’s the done thing to hock your uservoice suggestions on the forum, but here it is.)

Makes sense to me.

Somehow, I was assuming (with zero evidence) that this would already be on the dev-team’s to-do-list. So, count me in on this one.

(And while we are at it, what about also stripping the turn counter from the status line?)

Thumbs up on both suggestions.

Sounds good.

I’m not a newbie, but I find that message particularly ridiculous, too…

Thanks for all the support!

I notice that on uservoice it still only has the two votes I gave it, though. :wink:

Uservoice has that scarcity problem :slight_smile:

Is there really much '0 out of 0’ing about? Of all the IF I played in the past half year, only 1 did that, and it was a WIP.

I’m not actually against changing the default position to ‘use no scoring’, though. It seems most games don’t use it.