Trouble with automatic text-margins

In short, I am trying to make the actual text-area if you will in all passages appear within the confines of a very specific area on the screen, whilst still remaining adaptable to different screen-sizes.

This is the type of layout and scaling I want to permanently keep no matter what size screen is being used. However, if the screen is made smaller…

This is the result. What I want to happen is for the text to fit within the marked red box, rather than going behind the image-box to the right.

This is what I currently have in my Stylesheet that is relevant to the issue:

#passages {
  margin-right: 25em;
  margin-left: 0;
  min-width: 72.5em;
  border: 0;
}

Note that the “min-width” was the only way I could find to make the main text-box the appropriate size, as otherwise, the text-box instead remains much too small, not filling out the area properly.

Any pointers in this regard? Do keep in mind that I am relatively new to Twine and Sugarcube, meaning I am likely to not understand particularly complex wording. I am quite good at understanding examples, however.

If you want everything to stay in a box, you probably want to use width instead of min-width. There’s also a lot of other settings you can use to fine-tune your control of the box. You may also want to consider using specific span/divs for this, instead of styling every passage in your story. This allows you to have a lot more control of where and how things appear, especially if you’re going to do a “text box next to image box” kind of display.

I’ll give an example from a CSS I use:

#txt {
position:absolute;
font-size:1.1em;
font-family: "Consolas", Consolas, Monaco, monospace;
line-height: 1.1;
top: 3em;
left: 12%;
background-color: #1B1B1B;
color: tan;
border:ridge;
border-color: tan;
border-width: 0.2em 0.2em 0.2em 0.2em;
border-radius: 0.1em; 
height:30em;
width: 700px;
padding:0.6em;
}