The End of the Tour: An ILLUSTRATED Puppet Head Postmortem

The three best things about writing IF? In alphabetical order: feedback, feedback and feedback. I’ve never written anything that got 20 reviews before; it’s intoxicating! But even beyond that, and best of all, we are permitted— nay, encouraged— to make big self-indulgent posts about how great we are and how smart it was to do things this way and how it was much smarter than doing it that way… anyway, yeah. Even the feedback gets feedback!

My warmest and most grateful thanks to everyone who played, and who enjoyed, and who responded to Put Your Hand Inside The Puppet Head. Now let’s pull that hand out and look at all the scars and rashes it accumulated along the way!

Don’t Let’s Start

Put Your Hand Inside The Puppet Head sprouted from two seeds.

First of all, take a look at this:

This conversation happened on May 17, 2022. Take careful note of the time stamps: after being given the initial prompt, I generated the concept for this game, basically in full, in EIGHT MINUTES. Talk about being struck by inspiration!

The only element of this initial description that I couldn’t do was making it a VR game. Well, not giving up on that just yet…

The second genesis of the game is this video clip from ten years previous. It’s only a few minutes; I recommend you watch it in its entirety.

https://youtu.be/M-ckDJ3xTaE

When I first saw this video, I had a hard time believing it. Imagine anyone, even a cop, not recognizing LeVar Burton! Then I realized that LeVar himself could literally never afford to make that assumption. It could happen tomorrow, and the headlines would be customized to imply it was his own fault. “Celebrity dead after law enforcement mix-up,” or “LeVar Burton: No Angel”.