Text-engine, a free tool for making Interactive Fiction

Hi, all! :wave: I’m new here. I joined because I wanted to tell you about a project I’ve been working on on-and-off for the last four years.

It’s called text-engine, and like the other amazing tools on this forum, it’s designed to help you make IF (in this case, classic-style text adventure games). Similar to Sadako and ISHML, it’s made using web technologies.

I just released a new version of my engine with a bunch of new features, and I’d love if folks who are interested would check out the demo (link below) and let me know their thoughts. If anyone is interested in making something with the tool, I’m also happy to assist in any way I can!

I’ve worked very hard on this, and I’d like nothing more than to see it used! And if you have ideas about ways it could be improved, I’m all ears.

You can also find the source code and documentation on Github: https://github.com/okaybenji/text-engine

Thanks very much for taking the time to give this a read.

Benji

3 Likes

What would you say are the advantages of Text-engine over other systems?

FYI, it doesn’t layout well on mobile.

2 Likes

Hi Dan, thanks for the response!

It’s true, the itch page works best on a desktop computer. If you are on mobile, please try this demo instead: http://benjikay.com/text-engine/

The engine code itself doesn’t actually care what your interface looks like. You can style it however you want with CSS. So if mobile-first is your goal, that would be the way to work toward it.

I can’t speak to advantages versus non-JavaScript-based tools, since JavaScript is my primary programming language. When I set out to make a text game, I looked at other JS options, and then built this tool to meet my needs.

In my opinion, some of its strengths are:

• Games are just JSON objects; JSON is one of the most popular data formats in the world, and happens to be my favorite
  • Simple exploration games can be made without any programming