Teamwork with twine

I am new to twine. I like the tool. How can we work as a team on a twine story? I have a story stored on my mac now and I can edit it with the mac app. I know that there is an online version, but I did not find any option to share my work with my colleagues. I can only publish. But I need them to edit, because I create the structure and others should be able to add text or change the text. How can we do that? Thank you very much for your help!

1 Like

The Twine 2.x application is designed for a single individual to work on a project, it’s not designed to be used to collaborate with other people on a project. Which is why you need to use techniques like passing a ‘published’ file around to fake such collaboration, but you need to make sure only one person at a time is editing it because the application itself (1) has no means to combine changes made by multiple people together to form a ‘master’ project.

The web-browser based release of the Twine 2.x application stores the data of a project within the local storage are of the web-browser being used to edit the project, and no part of a project is stored on web-server being used to host a copy of that release on the Twine web-site. Which is why you’re not able to ‘share’ a project being edited by that hosted copy.

Generally people who want to collaborate on a Twine project will switch their Twine 2.x application based project to being a TWEE Notation based one, and use their favourite Text Editor combined with a TWEE compiler (like TweeGo) to edit and ‘publish’ their project. And used Version Control System (like Git) and a hosted repository (like GitHub) to allow the team to collaborate.

(1) there are third party tools that can be used to either:

1. combine the Passages contained in multiple ‘published’ HTML together to form a singled project containing all the Passage.
  2. version control the ‘published’ HTML file so that a ‘master’ copy of the project can be maintained.
1 Like