TADS 2: I'm just trying to make a cup of tea!

Shorah. First post.
I’m a bit new to TADS 2, and trying to implment a cup of tea. I need a water tap that pours water into a pot, a burner that boils the water, and a tea press that brews it. I’ve tried a simple “object.moveInto(place);” but I get weird errors.Help!

I’m much better versed in TADS 3 than 2, but I did dabble a while back. Have you looked at Mark Engelberg’s Tutorial? It’s linked to on the TADS 2 page, and it goes through things like indirect verbs (put [direct object] in [indirect object]), as well as a lot more besides.

On the whole though, I’m not sure that making a cup of tea is quite as simple to code as you might think. For a start, pouring water into a pot seems like a simple enough command, until you find users wanting to ‘pour water into pot’ as a single action, or ‘put pot under tap’ and ‘turn tap on’, or a million other ways of phrasing it (‘fill pot with water’, for example). I’d be inclined to have a one-button-push tea making machine, or a tea selling npc, but that’s just me…

btw, what kind of errors do you get with moveinto? I seem to remember it being a pretty straightforward command.

I have read that tutorial. I’m basing this on that.
Well, I was trying to put a pot in a sink.

sink: fixeditem, container
sdesc=“sink”
noun=‘sink’
location=startroom
ldesc=
{
if (pot.location=self)
“This is a sad looking sink, with a small tap. A pot rests on the drain.”;
}
else
{
“This is a sad looking sink, with a small tap.”;
}
;

pot: item, container
sdesc=“pot”
ldesc=“This is a pot.”
noun=‘pot’
location=startroom
;

The pot, by being in the sink, when a tap was turned, would check to see if the pot was in the sink, and if so, to place water into it.
i’m not at my own computer, as it does not have internet, so i’m not sure exactly how to define the tap here, so i’ll just tell how I’m trying to work it.

tap:

doturn(actor)=
{
if (pot.location=sink)
{
“Water gushes from the tap and fills the pot.”;