Sugarcube initialization order and Custom Macro

Twine Version: 2.36.1

I’m just getting started with Tweego and SugarCube. I have a basic npm project set up using esbuild and typescript and am just testing out a few simple things to get my bearings. At the moment, I’m trying to define a custom macro from test.tsx:

SugarCube.Macro.add("mymacro", {
        tags: null,
        skipArgs: false,
        handler: function () {
            this.output.append("test output")
        },
    })

Esbuild puts this in out.js, which gets picked up by tweego and shows up in the index.html story script element like this:

(() => {
  SugarCube.Macro.add("mymacro", {
    tags: null,
    skipArgs: false,
    handler: function() {
      this.output.append("test output");
    }
  })();

The problem is that the userscript runs before the Sugarcube object has been fully initialized, and Sugarcube.Macro.add is still undefined, causing an exception.

If I wrap the entire init block in $(document).on(":storyready", function(ev) { .... } then the macro registration works fine. But the active passage gets rendered before the macro has been properly registered regardless, so I see macro <<mymacro>> does not exist when I view index.html in Chrome.

Only on the initial passage though. If I navigate to some other passage that also uses the custom macro, then it works. How do I ensure my userscript waits until after SugarCube is fully initialized, but also gets to register macros before passage rendering?

1 Like

Simply doing Macro.add directly instead of Sugarcube.Macro.add, seems to do the trick. Don’t know why I got it into my head that all API interaction has to start with the Sugarcube object.

The purpose of the undocumented SugarCube debugging interface is to allow an Author to access the internals of the story format’s JavaScript based engine from a web-browser’s Console while the generated Story HTML file is being viewed.