Sugarcube basic combat system

If you are requesting technical assistance with Twine, please specify:
Twine Version:2.3.14
Story Format: Sugarcube 2.34.1

Ok so I am new to this whole thing been using RPG maker for ages now, but I hate mapping more then I care to admit, so it normaly is pretty text heavy. So I decided to try out twine I came across some amazing twine based games but sadly I can’t seem to open them up and pick at them to help me understand basics of combat.

I found some great guides but for halow not sugar cube and since I am newb I tried to transfer the syntax over to work and yeah that is just not working. I sorted out basic varibles and stuff like that from youtube tutorials. Even how to add place holders on uibar to track HP, and what not there. But what I haven’t sorted out is how to actually use variable system to make a just bare bones combat system so I can get a feel for it.

Like I know there is a million ways to do it and I can spruce it up and make it look amazing. But I am the stage where I drawing straws on how to even sort out the basics I see I should have passages for each part, but that is far as I know. Not looking for advance just a basic idea I can evolve from as needed, because so far I keep googling and for sugar cube I just keep seeing “the sky is the limit, just start making it yourself build it backwards!” Its like um That requires me to know how to build its like handing a toddler a bunch of nails, and screwdriver, and some boards with a butter knife. Its like what I don’t know how to make anything out of this…

2 Likes

There are a lot of ways to do this; here’s something simple, where we will have health points and magic points.

In a passage titled PassageFooter you will want to put the displays that show up on every page

<hr>
<<print $playerHP>>/<<print $playerHPmax>> HP
<<print $playerMP>>/<<print $playerMPmax>> MP

In a passage titled StoryInit, create some defaults

<<set $playerHPmax to 50>>