Sugarcube 2: where to keep all my widgets?

Hi there, I’m a programmer but I’m a beginner at Twine, writing my first story. I wanted to keep “variables” for styles of text. For instance: my character’s dialogue (only this character’s dialogue) should be colored red and the text would be cursive. I found I could achieve this by using a widget:

<<widget “MainChar”>>//$args[0]//<>

I would then use the widget like this:

<<MainChar “Uhm… hello?”>>

I figured storing this widget in my Starting Passage would make the most sense and it gets the job done: I can use this widget from any passage… but I can’t test single passages as the widget’s would send an error (because I didn’t “run” the Starting Passage).

Is there a place where I can keep all my text styles so that I can test any passage without running into the mentioned problem?

Also: is there a better way to achieve these styles, without widgets?

Thanks a lot.

1 Like

Widgets have to be in a non-story non-special passage with a “widget” tag. I usually just make a passage called “Global Widgets”, give it “widget” and “nobr” tags, and put all of my widgets there.

However, if you want to style a chunk of text, then creating a macro is usually better, since you can put the contents within the macro, rather than passing it as a parameter. To do that you’d put something like this in your JavaScript section:

Macro.add('i', {
	skipArgs : true,
	tags     : null,
	handler  : function () {
		$(this.output).wiki("//<span class='" + this.payload[0].args.full + "'>" + this.payload[0].contents + "</span>//");
	}
});

And we make a “red” class in your Stylesheet section:

.red {
	color: red;
}

And now you can just do something like this in your story:

<<i red>>Testing<</i>>

That will write the word “Testing” in italics using the “red” class styling you set in your Stylesheet section. With that you can just make a class in your Stylesheet section for each character, and then you’d just do:

<<i MC>>Main character text<</i>>