Sugarcube 2.28.2 error- <<set>> Bad Evaluation

So, a total noob here, emphasis on noob. My total coding experience consists of a brief class I took in high school that covered html (which I remember nothing of). Despite all that, however, I’ve been flying by on the seat of my pants and using whatever resources I can get my hands on, but this error BAFFLES me-

Error [StoryInit]:Set:Bad Evaluation: Unexpected Token Default
(edit- I removed the <'s from around set in the error message because it was causing the set to vanish.)

So, I poured over story Init until I figured out what the issue is-

<<set $PlayerPhysicalTrait to {
“Hair” : default,
“BodyThickness” : default,
“SkinColor” : default,
“EyeColor” : default,
“EyeType” : default,
“BodyType” : default,
“BodyTone” : default,
}>>

At first, I thought It was being picky about and wanted me to use true/false instead of default, but I went through line by line deleting lines, editing them so they’d use true/false, retesting the story, and moving on untill I was only left with
}>>
and STILL the error persists. To top it off, I have this-

<<set $PlayerGender to {
“Male” : false,
“Female” : false,
“Default” : true
}>>

Right above it. I’ve obviously searched for this particular error on google, but haven’t found it anywhere else.

1 Like

You likely have multiple issues going on at once.

1. The value default is not a predefined identifier, so that will be one of your issues, unless you’ve defined it somewhere prior to that bit of code.
  2. If your examples are representative of your actual code, then you seem to be using typographic (i.e. curly) quotes, rather than regular quotes—i.e. the difference between “Male” and "Male". Typographic quotes are not valid syntax, so use regular quotes. At a guess, you’re copy-pasting from a word processor of some variety and it’s “helpfully” replacing your regular quotes with typographic ones.

There may be other issues. Without seeing the code, we can’t really say.

2 Likes