Somewhere Somewhen heads up [+ EDIT]

I started playing Somewhere Somewhen two weeks ago.

-Sudden unexplained transportation to another realm? Check.
-Mysterious McGuffin to save alien race from Bad Guy? Check.
-Gratuitous decoding-puzzle in first room? Check.

I was steamed up and ready for some oldschool puzzling for puzzling’s sake. Then I found a horseshoe that wasn’t there and an untakeable rope. Bah. I quit.

I wanted to give it another go before voting closes. Apparently you have to TAKE {thing} FROM {whatever it’s in}. Combine this with the fact that X {thing} returns “You don’t see any {thing} here.” and I think my first QUIT was very understandable.

EDIT: I got a little carried away and emphasized the frustration that caused me to QUIT the first time. I’m playing it now with my parser-expectations adjusted and my own heads-up in mind. As @ChristopherMerriner points out below, it is indeed a homebrew oldschool puzzler worth exploring.

1 Like

I feel bound to defend this somewhat as I tested the game and have had some contact with the author. It is certainly a difficult game and there is a level of stubbornness to the parser that might put off many players. However, the game has been hand-built in QB64 with some care and attention, the author has put a lot of time and effort into it and concessions have been made to lower the bar to entry (there are full hints and a complete walkthrough on the game page).

It would be sad if your heads up put people off playing it at all. Even if some players don’t like it, it does at least deserve to be looked at and I know the author would appreciate feedback.

5 Likes

You’re right. I edited the original post.

6 Likes

I was frustrated with the same parsing issues (particularly the need to GET something FROM container), but I’d struck the same issue with one or two of the other games. Once I’d tweaked to that, it was plain sailing.