Skybreak!

I was one of the beta testers so I hope it’s okay to make this thread, but I was just curious how many people have been able to mess around with Skybreak so far, and what kinds of stories are you making?

I’m still trying out different character builds even now. I seem to keep coming back to a couple of favorites and spend all my time exploring ruins and dealing with cultists and dark gods, or else I go full Star Trek and become overwhelmed by a powerful need to scan every rock. I’m about to start a Starfarer right now in BADASS MODE just to force myself to shake things up. And I’ll probably die pretty quickly because I’m not very good at space combat, and in regular mode have been relying heavily on undo to cheese fights…but this is the last of the storyline backgrounds and it’s supposed to be the hardest, so it’s about time I check it out. And learn how to reliably win in space combat.

Anyway, I wanted to make this thread not just because it’s a fun game, but because I seem to have been having quite a bit of luck using it as a gateway drug for people new to IF and I think others might too.

It’s fun and pulpy space adventure with a background of unknowable things beyong the edge of the Night, it’s got the light RPG and strategy elements, it’s in a few ways reminiscent of Fallen London, and the CYOA style menu choices make it easy to pick up and play. All of that equals being of interest to a major cross section of people. (I understand the author has even had success getting his parents to play…)

We have a little chat thread going about it on ChooseYourStory. (http://chooseyourstory.com/forums/the-lounge/message/25801) and everyone that’s been introduced there or in our Discord has gone through a period of obsession.

It looks a little like this, and yes, I am worried for her:

(yes I had permission to post those)