Semi-Custom LiteralAction - HelloAction

Long-winded, inessential intro

With Comp nearly closed, I became charged with motivation to re-energize my TADS3 homeschooling. I’ve got a small training game I was using to get my hands around the syntax and development tools. I’m going to shed it in a few days (what remains is pushing the NPC dialogue into a better state) to start work on what I hope will be a 2023 Comp entry, best laid plans amirite? Sidebar, the documentation suite for TADS is just phenomenal. I have most of them open on my desktop and its been rare I can’t find an answer I need, or at least get me close enough that I can trial and error the last mile. I’m not a coding novice by a long shot, so I’ve actually been more impressed than daunted with the power and breadth of TADS.

My development environment is lightweight linux: GVim editor, t3Make and frobtads execution. I have the workbench on a windows machine but don’t use it so much. The debugger is the probably the piece I miss most, and will likely power it up if you guys leave me hanging! :]

My challenge: I was trying to implement an alternate “Hello” mechanism to mirror military radio protocol (what? you don’t know me!). The form is “[NPC], this is [player]” which was formally close to “[NPC], hello” that it seemed worth a try. I also wanted to set a variable based on the literal string the player used to identify themselves. The intent was something like this:

'>H43, this is U71
“This is H43, go ahead U71”

and also this

'>this is U71
“This is H43, go ahead U71”

Given how successful I’d been with mix-in classes until now, my first FAILED attempt was this:

class ThisIsAction : LiteralActionBase, HelloAction
	execAction() {
		inherited;
		local cs = getLiteral();
		// mainReport('...' + cs + '...');  // debug statement
		if (cs == 'U71') gReveal('caller'); // unlock dialogue if PC correctly id's themself
		me.makeCallSign(cs); // sets ID in actor

gIssuingActor.sayHello(gActor);
	}
;