Semantic Highlighting in Inform 7

Now that we know there’s potentially interest in adding semantic code highlighting to the Inform 7 IDEs, it seems like some discussion is in order over how this would look and what exact functionality it would offer.

I started playing around with some ideas for how this might look and what exactly it would do, taking a subset (highlighting objects) of the initial idea:

http://aaronareed.net/if/semantic-test.html

Edit: Updated version here: http://aaronareed.net/if/semantic-test2.html

(This all assumes that some sort of background compiling is taking place.)

Essentially, what’s proposed here is:

– Highlight all the words understood as a new object in an assertion sentence.
– Highlight words understood as referring to a previously created object in a different, much more subtle color.
– Highlight articles in assertion sentences when they’re understood as meaningful.
– Hover-over to reveal problem messages with misunderstood sentences, and full names of referenced objects.

Any feedback is welcome-- if other people want to take the other sections and run with them, or offer counter-proposals, that would be great too. Feel free to grab the styles off my page as a start.

Also, I should add that I don’t know what’s technically possible with the current infrastructure, or what the IDE maintainers are willing to add-- this is in no way a promise of future functionality, just a discussion over what sort of more specific proposal we might want to make to the Inform team.

This looks great!

I like the idea. My concern is that I wouldn’t want it to look jumbled. Syntax coloring I like. Highlighting with a virtual Magic Marker I’m not so sure about. Maybe it would be best to have a button that would turn all this stuff on or off, so that the author could just write and not be distracted by a lot of graphic hoo-hah.