Seeking beta-testers for "The Rebeloses", a fantasy/educational game inspired by chemistry (English and Italian)

Hello everyone,

I am new to interactive fiction and I have recently completed my first game. The idea came to my mind when looking for creative formats for science communication and I thought of writing an interactive short story where the player is asked to solve puzzles totally inspired by the fundamental laws of chemistry.

The genre is between fantasy and detective story. The player wears the shoes of an apprentice wizard who embarks on a mission to identify a mysterious intruder.
The main puzzles of the game are based on the chemistry of sugars and many references and easter eggs on the world of chemistry are hidden here and there.

I have actually made two games: a very short introductory “prologue” and a much more elaborate sequel.

The first game (approx. 30 min playing time) comes with a help function, while I have not implemented it yet for the sequel (approx. 5 hours playing time).

Since this is my first experience in authoring interactive fictions, I would really appreciate any help.

If anyone is interested in testing the game, please send me a private message.

(P.S. The game was originally written in Italian, so in case anyone from Italy is reading this thread, I would be very glad to receive feedback on the original language version, too)

7 Likes

Congratulations on your first game! Lots of people are getting ready for the Spring Thing festival, but hopefully you will get the help you are looking for.

What system did you use to develop your game?

Thanks! I used Inform 7 (6L38 because I had issues with newer releases) with Quixe interpreter.

Oh my! That sounds like an amazing idea. Real world chemistry-based science puzzles in a fantasy detective framework. Love it.