[spoiler]This time around, in order to preserve as many items as possible, I copied Rezrov off of the scribbled scroll onto a blanked newly-printed scroll, and gnustoed that, so I have both the scribbled scroll in my inventory and rezrov in my spellbook. Now, whenever I try to Rezrov anything with the scribbled scroll in my inventory (even if it’s in a closed container), it warns me that the scribbled scroll will be used up and asks me if I’m sure… even though it isn’t actually used (when I confirm that I want to rezrov, it casts from my spellbook instead.)
I can’t seem to refer to the battered scroll tube via the the small translucent sphere while that room is locked; it says that I can’t see it anymore, even though I can see it fine through the sphere. I can still refer to the rusty iron key through the sphere.
While trying to get the scrolls in the clean room, ordering the adventurer to “adventurer, southeast. open golden box. get all from box. put all in oven” results in a weird message that I can’t reach into the clean room. (Obviously, this was before I dropped a sphere down the grate – you can probably figure out what I was trying to do here.)
The adventurer now responds properly when given a scroll and ordered to cast it on me with eg “adventurer, cast frotz on me”, but I still get no message when giving them my spellbook and ordering them to “adventurer, memorize frotz”, and “adventurer, frotz me” gives the no-response reaction as if I were trying to talk to them.
The message for trying to blorb your ring is a bit wierd; it says “…but yourself is in the way.”
Is it intentional that you can get the aquarium? I was carrying it around, then yonk rezroved it open, and it said it shattered into a thousand pieces of glass… but I still had it, just open, and its description didn’t make it sound like it was shattered.
In the main stacks:
> blorb shelves
“The shelves is too big, and the spell dissipates…”
Casting lleps vezza anywhere where there isn’t something specific to see results in a weird response: You get first the lleps-vezza response (“For a moment…”), then the default “You cast the spell, the lleps enchantment twisting it around, but nothing obvious happens” response. I assume the second part isn’t meant to be displayed.
I meant to mention this before, but I forgot: Shouldn’t casting Izyuk allow me to descend the stairs to the Clean Room, or at least give some updated explanation of why I can’t descend? Presumably this could be fixed by making it clear that the entire passage is too narrow for your claustrophobia – the description makes it seem like it’s just the rickety narrow stairs in a wider area, and Izyuk would let you descend without using them.
It’s still possible to vaxum the adventurer while they are in the clean room (copy Yonk onto a scroll, cast Yonk via the scroll, rezrov the crates, all while the adventurer is glaring at you, then gnusto vaxum and vaxum the adventurer.) This results in the adventurer glaring at you with hostility while being your best friend. Actually, I didn’t really explore it before, but casting vaxum like this also allows you to order the hostile-glaring adventurer around, even while they’re glaring at you. Also, even if you later reverse your summoning, they’ll still glare at you whenever you meet them later (though they’ll obey your commands and be friendly otherwise.)
You can see the adventurer glaring at you with open hostility no matter where you go, even if you drop the sphere that lets you see what’s going on down there, put it in a closed container, or whatever. (Remember, in theory, a sufficiently callous player could just leave the adventurer there, at least up until they discover they need the adventurer’s help later. At least, that’s how things are right now.)
Ordering the adventurer south from the main entrance to the library while they are mind-controlled now produces a “you don’t want to leave until you have collected at least 12 spells” response, which seems a bit odd. Ordering the adventurer to do that while they’re your friend produces an “I don’t see how I could do that” response from them, which seems odd, too.
I can’t lleps gnusto my own spell book; the response is that it’s meant to be cast on scrolls, even though lleps gnusto is cast on spellbooks.
It’s possible to get 12 spells before you learn Yonk and end the first chapter (Gnusto, Frotz, Blorb, Nitfol, Rezrov, Izyuk, Lesoch, Lleps; plus 2 in the purple tome and 2 in De Evocatio.) Trying to leave will still say that you want to get 12 spells before you go.
I can gnusto spells into the tome and De Evocatio, but only while Frobar is waiting for me to copy stuff into his spell book, and only by dropping his spell book first. I’m not sure why I would want to do this (or if this is really a problem), but it seems weird. You can’t do it at any other time; the gnusto spell will look for your spell book and fail when it doesn’t find it, even if the other two books are available.
If you say “no” repeatedly to the enchanters, they cast setrav on you, but there’s no such spell in the encyclopedia.
[u]Stuff from the scene with Frobar and the enchanters[/u]
I can blorb Frobar, Helistar, and Haffibar. They don’t seem to mind and can continue to speak with me, interact with me, and so on from inside the strongbox. (I actually considered doing this the first time I played through, but assumed that the other enchanters would immediately deal with me, since they outnumber me three to one.)
They also respond generically to being hit by bozbar. Nor do they care when I lleps gondar them to make them burst into spectral flame.
You get a “nothing obvious happens” response when trying to serage or vaxum the enchanters (although I guess they’re not really hostile enough for vaxum.) They don’t mind.
You can blorple away from the enchanters, too (since Frobar’s spellbook has blorple in it, his handing it to you gives you an escape route!) They don’t react, and you get messages as though they were present. The weird thing is that doing this makes perfect sense from the PC’s perspective (they don’t know what the enchanters will do to them after they copy the spell), and fits into the rules as established – Frobar’s spell book should have blorple in it, and it makes total sense to use it to escape. Perhaps it shouldn’t work when you’re frozen to the ground? Or the enchanters could prevent you from memorizing / casting that spell in particular? Anyway, I managed to blorple to the mirror, then blorple through it, then make my way a fair way into the caves before they somehow put me to sleep.
I can cast Izyuk on myself while my feet are glued to the floor, and it will say I am “now floating serenely in midair.” I still can’t move in most directions… but for some reason I can go up. The scene with the enchanters continues as though I hadn’t left the room.
I can give a palantir (the black or transparent one) to Frobar, then later use it to zifmia him after he’s left. He has no reaction and just sort of stands around lost in thought. I suppose I could probably kill him by summoning him over the chasm. He doesn’t seem to have his spell book, though (I was trying to figure out a way to steal it, of course.) Presumably I could summon the other enchanters this way, too.
Other stuff I can do that Frobar and the other enchanters seem curiously unbothered by:
Blorbing Frobar’s spell book.
Dropping Frobar’s spell book.
Putting Frobar’s spell book in a bag.
Wasting the scroll Frobar gave you by gnustoing it into the tome or De Evocatio (by dropping or blorbing or bagging his spellbook first); or dropping / blorbing / bagging the scroll itself.
(Some of these might just get a comment, I suppose. But I’d expect Frobar to be more concerned about the weird things I’m doing to his spell book in general.)
Smashing the display case for the ancient gnusto spell using rezrov, then destroying the priceless scroll inside by gnustoing it, which you can do right in front of them because the scene happens to happen in the same room as it (and there is actually a reason to do this in front of them, since this lets you get the gnusto spell into De Evocatio or the tome without using up the last remaining newly-printed scroll. For that matter, it might make sense for them to have a reaction if you did this prior to their arrival, too, since the ruined display case and missing scroll will happen to be right in front of them and makes your crimes much more severe than if you’d just abused the spell dispenser a bit.)
You can cast bozbar on the adventurer multiple times, getting the same response each time. Also, the wings don’t show up in their description.
bozbar bird should probably have a non-default response, since it already has wings.
lleps bozbar bird doesn’t do anything; it seems like it should logically have an effect. (That poor bird, though! But this is for science.)
The fact that yonk bozbar fails generically seems odd; it seems like a reasonable way to try and give someone wings capable of flight (although I assume it might break something or be too much of a pain to implement.) Possibly it should have a special response.[/spoiler]